Like a Little Bean

This is our daughter Georgia. A Taurus, born in the year of the Dragon. Motherhood revived so many sentiments of my childhood stories, friendships, and family. From an early stage, my life has been filled with vibrant colors and many, many, books. My mom, Denise, owned a bookstore called Klaxon in São Paulo, the city where I grew up. She’s passionate about literature and poetry. She always found the energy and time to read us a story before bedtime (and one more, and just one more…). During the pregnancy I started thinking of the books I loved when I was a child and I came across one of my favourite picture books at random thrift store in Vancouver. After buying The Napping House (Wood and Wood 1984) for a bargain, I realized how fun it would be to begin collecting children’s books for our bebe. And so another 8 months went by… and Georgia’s bookshelf came to life! For the baby shower, we asked friends and family to share a favourite children’s book. As Georgia grows older, she’ll hear the stories that each one of them carefully picked- and these will travel in memories through her lifetime. I decided to start this blog for two reasons: to share this fantastic selection of children’s books and also to keep my passion for writing alive, as the mother grows deep inside. Over the next months you will find out about Georgia’s books and I will continue on with other books that come our way. I hope you join this story journey~ marina

6 thoughts on “Like a Little Bean

  1. oi filhota amada,
    Uma delicia o jeito que você escreve e uma emoção ver em você minha paixão pelos livros, logo mais Georgia vai estar dando asas a imaginação escutando suas histórias.. é a vida recomeçando lindamente em vocês.. amor sempre

  2. Marina que lindo! amei1 Georgia e’ tao linda, parabens, minha querida estou louca para reve-la e conhecer sua bonequinha. bjks com muito carinho, fa’.

  3. lovely. a beautiful writer, and what a gift to give through books — a bounty of words and tales for that little one.

    keep reading (and writing!)

    • Lisa, so long its been… I imagine you are somewhere beautiful. Living between the earth and the sea. Sailing the winds… Let me know when you are back on the West Coast, would love to reconnect. Besos, m.

Leave a Reply

