No!

Today I realized it’s been two months since my last post. I apologize the absence dear followers. The last day of the year is a time to reflect and think- small and big. A year ago, I was in Vancouver, spending New Year’s Eve at a rooftop apartment in Downtown, Georgia in the belly. Max and I toasted at midnight, into the unknown but already in love with the exciting journey ahead of us. This 31st of December feels different. To begin with, the climate that surrounds us is warm, the ocean is an ever changing deep blue and green, the evenings cooled by the regular tropical rains, the body used to the absence of layers and the feet used to the lazy havaianas strolls. I missed all of this. And the greatest change, being back home with my daughter. Introducing her to people, tastes, and places so dear to me. She is acclimatized (after a good dose of sweaty naps and mosquito bites) and happy.

ImageBeginning her eating adventures, between papayas and papinhas (homemade baby foods). Loving beach time and swimming pools. Spending time with grandparents, aunties, uncles, dindos, great-aunties, great-grandma… from lap to lap, arms to arms.

Image

We journey from one home to the other. From the city to the coast. Every where is home for me. Places of my childhood, my teenagehood, and others that we’re just so welcomed, that home it is. Speaking of home, I decided to dedicate this post to the picture book No! by the artist and graphic designer Marta Altés, a gift from tia Tetê.

Image

Tetê is my youngest sister. A dog lover from the very bright start. Well, in her own kind of way. I remember her riding Black (our first dog), pulling his tail… and he loved her back. She also loves sloths and kids! Tetê is the perfect combo of sweet and tough. She praises your goods and calls your bads. Her and I have been through all kinds of adventures- play ones and real ones. I can’t imagine myself without her, it just would’t be the “I” that I know. I really think that siblings are an inseparable part of who we are. With all this jumping around, travels North, travels South, the one thing I really wish is that I could always have them both with me.

20130103-105521.jpg

No! is the story of a very loved dog, from the perspective of that dog. No! spends all day helping out at home. He helps with the laundry, making the beds, feeds himself.. he’s a very helpful member of the family. All day long, his family calls him “No!” “Nooooo!” “Noooo…” and so he figures he is a great help. The only odd thing is that his name tag doesn’t say “No”! This is a really fun read and tells us again: it’s all a matter of perspective! You can find it in English, Portuguese, Spanish, German, Korean, among others.

Image

And to a New Year with love, laughter, and strength for all that make life a memorable journey. Transformations ahead because the roads are always new… on the way there, and back. To a happy New Year, Saúde e Fé!

‎”Our mind should be free from traces of the past, just like the flowers of Spring” by Shunryu Suzuki

One thought on “No!

Leave a Reply

